Fly Fishing Links

Here are some useful fly fishing links ….I’ll be adding more as time goes by……

Fly Fishing Magazines Online:

American Angler: www.americanangler.com

Catch Magazine:   www.catchmagazine.net/

Fly Fishermanwww.flyfisherman.com/

Fly Rod & Reel: www.flyrodreel.com/

Mid Current Fly Fishing: www.midcurrent.com/

Orvis News: www.orvisnews.com/

The Drakewww.drakemag.com/

Southern Culture on the Fly   http://southerncultureonthefly.com/

Tail Fly Fishing Magazine  http://www.mydigitalpublication.com/publication/?i=300086#

Fly-fisher magazine  www.fly-fisher-magazine.com

Major Fly Rod Companies:

Orvis http://www.orvis.com/fly-rods

Sage: http:  http://www.sageflyfish.com/

Scott: www.scottflyrods.com/

Temple Fork:    http://www.tforods.com/

Winston: http://www.winstonrods.com/

Custom Fiberglass Fly Rods

The Fiberglass Manifesto is the spot to learn about custom fiberglass fly rods.

Another good place to learn about Glass: http://fiberglassflyrodders.com/forum/

Yasuyuki Kabuto is a custom fiberglass rod builder in Japan. www.kabutorods.com

Massachusetts:

I shop at Bear’s Den:   http://www.bearsden.com/

If you’re on Martha’s the Vineyard: http://coopsbaitandtackle.com/    and  http://www.larrystackle.com/

Connecticut Shops:

Rivers End Tackle: Covers salt fly, with good fishing report updates. www.riversendtackle.com

Upcountry Sportfishing: Good contact for information on the Farmington River scene. Offers guides.  www.farmingtonriver.com

Housatonic River Outfitters: Good contact for Housatonic River info. Offer guides. www.dryflies.com

Saltwater Links

Angler Adventures: Angler Adventures is an excellent fly-fishing travel agency, founded way back in 1986. With a staff of fishing experts, they book destinations worldwide. That’s right: north, south, east and west –  they got it all covered. Check them out!    www.angleradventures.com/

Stripers Forever: Dedicated to making striped bass a game fish. Lotsa of good information on striped bass. You can a free membership right on their site – www.stripersforever.org  While you’re there, check out their Mycobacteriosis Research Initiative. Mycobacteriosis is an emerging infectious disease that affects well over 75% of the resident striped bass. Stripers Forever has a link by which you can help the research underway to combat this huge threat to striped bass. Please consider making a donation. I did.

David Skok: Dave is a great angler and masterful fly tyer. Reach him at www.dskok.com

Salty Fly Rodders of New York: Excellent club with extensive knowledge of Long Island fishing. www.saltyflyrodders.org

Atlantic Salt Water Flyrodders: New Jersey based club with mucho expertise. Tip of the hat. www.aswf.info/

Coastal Flyrodders: Another very active New Jersey club. www.coastalflyrodders.com

Connecticut Rhode Island Fly Fishers: A good group focused on eastern Long Island Sound www.connri-saltfly.com

Freshwater Links

Connecticut Fly Fisherman’s Association: I believe Lefty called the CFFA the best club in America. He’s right. Proud to be a member. www.ctflyfish.org/

Farmington River Anglers Association: As the name says, devoted to the Farmington River. www.FRAA.org

Rich Strolis is a fine fly tyer and guide on the Farmington River. www.catching-shadows.com

Bruce Marino is another fine tyer and guide. Find him at  www.bmarflies.com

Important Fly Fishing Connections:

American Museum of Fly Fishing: www.amff.com/

Catskill Fly Fishing Center and Museum www.ccfcm.net/

The Fly Fishing Show:  They put on the biggest fly fishing shows around the country each year.   www.flyfishingshow.com/

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.